I open my eyes to find myself deep inside a cave,
pitch black vision and echoing footsteps.

In front of me I can hear
liquid dropping into a puddle or sea,
so I stand still
thinking of ways to not drown myself.

From some path ahead,
a loud screech strikes,
Startled I step back…
SPLASH!

Sinking in a thick liquid,
a liquid that was whispering
all the things I had written
in each of my exams.

The ink found its way back
to the author who shaped it,
ruthlessly seeking for the meaning
behind every letter and word,
filling my mind with unshakeable worries.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have a collection onΒ Poetry Book: The A to Z of You and Me

2 thoughts on “Echoes

Leave a Reply

