Like a dog on a tight leash
bound to its master,
I have spun around the tiny room
that I am constrained to.

Only now I have realised
that I have been chained,
after seeing you paralysed
when you got coiled
by the leash you put around my neck.

I wonder to myself
how this happened to be.

You cannot bear
a day without my presence,
and like a devoted dog
I feel blessed that you dread
the idea of losing me.

Feel assured when I say,
I recognise your scent from miles away.
If either of us ever got lost
in a sea of crowds,
I promise to follow the trail
until I am by your side again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you liked this poem,
feel free to check out info
about my poetry collection

The A to Z of You and Me
Leave a Reply

