I have been the vulnerable one,
a delicate flower of gentle nature
living by small amounts of water.

Feeling safe when you hold me in your arms,
you feel strong and important
precious like the last guard of a secret chamber.

Yesterday you were crying to be saved,
desperate in vulnerability.

I stood up and saved you,
became your hero even though
it is not a role that I am used to.

Now I wonder if I can ever go back
to being held delicately in your arms
as if you were the hero all along.

Leave a Reply

